AR Newbie Registered Member

Completely Overwhelmed! --- Newbie

Hello! I am new to the fourms! I have been reading and reading about home theater and I am completely overwhelmed. So many choices! If I could get some recommendations that would be fabulous! Right now I am looking for a reciever and speakers.

Budget for Reciever: $1000 - $1300
    I am thinking of the Denon Avr-3803 / 3805 or the Yamaha RX-V2400?

Budget for Speakers: $1000 - $2500
    The speakers should be of medium size to small (request from the fioncee) and we would like them to be all the same brand (a 6.1 setup I guess). We would probably use them 75% for HT and 25% for music. Room size is questionable. We are renting at the moment and are likely to move in the near future. The B&W 602 series 3 are looking pretty good.

I look forward to all of your recommendations!
    Last edited by Zeus; 03-01-2004 at 01:19 PM.

Forum Regular
    the yamaha rx-v2400 is a great amp, can't go wrong with that.

for speakers, what you said sounds good aswell, just go into a store and listen to all the mid size ones until you find the ones you like. the B&W's maybe some paradigm, or athena asb2"s and asc1.

best is just to go listen

I think you should increase your budget for speakers by getting the rx-V1400, unless the 2400 has something you need that the 1400 doesn't have. You can get the 1400 for 600-$700 I think. You're gonna need that extra money for a good subwoofer.