Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Who Do You Credit????

Here's a question that I don't know if it has ever been asked before, but who do you credit with your love and passion for both music and a hobby like audio/video?

For me, I attribute my deep love for music mainly with my grandparents, which my grandmother loved classical and I learned much through her, plus she rooted me on to stick with concert band through the years and into orchestras and symphonic endeavors. My grandparents also were the ones that taught me to initially play guitar and then I pretty much self-taught myself from there.

My parents used to have decent taste in music, until about 1991 when they started listening to so-called Country music...if that's what you call Billy Ray Cyrus. My mom was the one that turned me on to 2112 by Rush. My dad was a big Boston fan, so that's where I developed a liking for them. I picked up on my own love for oldies, classic rock, and other types of music, but I've always had a curious mind, so I just prowled around and started to have an eclectic taste early on.

For this hobby I would have to say my friend Nick, who was the one that had a set of PSB speakers back in the 1990's that blew me away and I always wanted to get something similar. He was the one that introduces me into the world of 'audio' and my years working in video stores and such really helped forge my love for HT-related stuff, although I have always been a big film fan and went to school for it as well, but realized that the only way to really make money in Hollywood is to rub shoulders with the right people and sell your soul to Satan. I opted for a career doing Video Production and Graphic Design.

Many of the people around here though have really helped me over time really get a laser-beam sight on what my goals are in terms of audio-related stuff and I am grateful for much of the knowledge that I have acquired here.

Suspended