Page 1 of 10 1 2 3 ... LastLast
    Forum Regular

Are Bose 301 Speakers the best in there price range?

Im interested in purchasing a pair of bookshelf speakers as fronts for a low budget (cheap) small HT system. I found a place here where I can purchase a pair Polk R30s for $120.00 a pair brand new though there not bookshelf speakers as I prefer they'll still work just fine. My neighbor insist that Bose 301s are a better choice and are the best speakers you can find in there price range anywhere. Im just a proud amateur looking for decent sound.

Super Moderator Site Moderator JohnMichael's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by ChrisY
    Im interested in purchasing a pair of bookshelf speakers as fronts for a low budget (cheap) small HT system. I found a place here where I can purchase a pair Polk R30s for $120.00 a pair brand new though there not bookshelf speakers as I prefer they'll still work just fine. My neighbor insist that Bose 301s are a better choice and are the best speakers you can find in there price range anywhere. Im just a proud amateur looking for decent sound.
    ChrisY listen to your ears and not your neighbor. Bose 301's are one type of speaker and sound but there are many good speakers in the same price range. Polk makes a few as do Paradigm, Infinity, Epos and Athena. www.audioadvisor.com has the Energy C-3 reduced to $299.95 a pair and they would also be a better speaker than Bose. Of course if you like the Bose sound by all means. Listen to as many speakers in your price range as you can.
    JohnMichael
    Vinyl Rega Planar 2, Incognito rewire, Deepgroove subplatter, ceramic bearing, Michell Technoweight, Rega 24V motor, TTPSU, FunkFirm Achroplat platter, Michael Lim top and bottom braces, 2 Rega feet and one RDC cones. Grado Sonata, Moon 110 LP phono.
    Digital
    Sony SCD-XA5400ES SACD/cd SID mat, Marantz SA 8001
    Int. Amp Krell S-300i
    Speaker
    Monitor Audio RS6
    Cables
    AQ SPKR and AQ XLR and IC