AR Newbie Registered Member

Audiotrak 5.1-7.1 preamp?

Hi, Newbie here. Does anyone here use a Audiotrak AT-7100P - A/V PRE-AMP TUNER 5.1-7.1 24 BIT/96K BAL OUT. Good/Bad? I could only find the specs at the man. and a price from a distributor for $603.44. That doesn't mean anything. I've seen plenty of high priced junk before. Thanks, Mike

M.P.S.E /AES/SMPTE member Sir Terrence the Terrible's Avatar
    It looks like an outdated pre-pro to me. No Dts-HD Master audio, no Dolby TruHD, just the legacy codecs, no HDMI. I would give this a major pass. Even at $603 bucks it is not worth the money. You can do better with a entry level Sony, Onkyo, or any other first tier brand name.
    Sir Terrence

Titan Reference 3D 1080p projector
    200" SI Black Diamond II screen
    Oppo BDP-103D
    Datastat RS20I audio/video processor 12.4 audio setup
    9 Onkyo M-5099 power amp
    9 Onkyo M-510 power amp
    9 Onkyo M-508 power amp
    6 custom CAL amps for subs
    3 custom 3 way horn DSP hybrid monitors
    18 custom 3 way horn DSP hybrid surround/ceiling speakers
    2 custom 15" sealed FFEC servo subs
    4 custom 15" H-PAS FFEC servo subs
    THX Style Baffle wall

Man of the People Forums Moderator bobsticks's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Sir Terrence the Terrible
    It looks like an outdated pre-pro to me. No Dts-HD Master audio, no Dolby TruHD, just the legacy codecs, no HDMI. I would give this a major pass. Even at $603 bucks it is not worth the money. You can do better with a entry level Sony, Onkyo, or any other first tier brand name.
    Yes.

Audiotrak? Who's that? At $6 bills you can probably get ahold of an old Proceed or Lexicon that, while also not having HDMI, will give you some tried and true DACs.
    So, I broke into the palace
    With a sponge and a rusty spanner
    She said : "Eh, I know you, and you cannot sing"
    I said : "That's nothing - you should hear me play piano"

AR Newbie Registered Member