Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Been reading ... just getting more confused.

I'm new to all this stuff and been reading for a few weeks regarding audio gear and also have gone to a few shops to test out a few receivers and speakers as well.

I'm trying to set up a system for about $6K. I'm interested in music but would like to use the system to dab into movies here and there. My music preference is as follows: 50% Electronic&Ambient, 30% Jazz & Latin Music, 15% Rock, 5% classical. I enjoy a room-filling bass sound as well as some of the higher treble pitches.

Some of the shops i've been to, have given me recommendations, but I dunno if they are just trying to sell me their inventory or what. Been reading reviews here and a few other forums but most talk about gear only. Wouldn't your preference in music also be a key influencer in what kind of system one would get?

Brands in which have tested:
    Speakers: KEF iQ Series, Monitor Audio Silver Series, Dali iKon Series, Triangle, JBL,
    Receivers and CDP: Denon, Onkyo, Cambridge Audio

I may be wrong in assuming that my musical preferences may require a system, specially speakers that will be able to handle some good beating?

I would really appreciate your advice and directions here. I'll also be purchasing a 40inch LCD for the living along with this system. And LCD TV budget is extra... not included in the $6K for the Audio System.

Thank you all.

Send me your number and i can give you a general fill in of the technologys out there and what exactly makes them different. Maybe the Tannoy Coax are for you, maybe the Piega 10 or the Avalons, or some Planars with real bass (Apogee, Perigee, Analysis Audio).....lets have a chat :-) Be warned tough, i hate commercial advertised junk.....
    Lots of music but not enough time for it all

With a $6000 budget a receiver should be the last thing on your list. Seperates is the only way to go!

Color me gone... Resident Loser's Avatar

Ab-so-lute-ly...