Forum Regular

CD Changer VS Single Player

Hi. I have been using a 5 cd changer (Denon DCM270) for about 5 years. Over the past year or so, it has started to skip. Some of the cd's are new, so I know that it is not a cd issue. This situation has left me thinking about buying a new player. Is there a difference in quality between a cd changer and a single disc player? I've been thinking about something like the NAD C521BEE. I enjoy the convenience of a changer, but if a single cd player offers more in the way of sound quality and durability, I would make the sacrifice. My budget is around $300 or less. Thanks.

Forum Regular

Consider servicing the Denon?

Quote Originally Posted by Mark111867
    Hi. I have been using a 5 cd changer (Denon DCM270) for about 5 years. Over the past year or so, it has started to skip. Some of the cd's are new, so I know that it is not a cd issue. This situation has left me thinking about buying a new player. Is there a difference in quality between a cd changer and a single disc player? I've been thinking about something like the NAD C521BEE. I enjoy the convenience of a changer, but if a single cd player offers more in the way of sound quality and durability, I would make the sacrifice. My budget is around $300 or less. Thanks.
    If your only issue with the Denon is the present skipping it may be worth checking out.
    It may something as simple as the laser lens needs cleaning or the laser itself needs re-aligning. Ones a $10 solution the other...$50-$75 depending on who you take it to.

For $300 I doubt you can find anything new that is going to be a significant upgrade over your Denon when it is in normal operating condition.

Now if you're just using this little problem as an excuse to upgrade (I do it ALL the time)
    then I'll leave well enough alone and tell you to let that upgrade bug bite away.