Thread: Any Difference?

Any Difference?

Can you hear the sound difference between AC3 or WMA versus DVD-A or SACD?

Forum Regular

General answer

Quote Originally Posted by poneal
    Upgrades of any kind, whether physically changing pieces of your system or a software upgrade, are dependent on your system's ability to react to those upgrades and how you "hear" (percieve) music. Some people may not hear any differences because they don't really know how to listen for them. That's not an insult to anyone. Your brain can be trained to listen for subtle aural differences, just like your muscles can learn to drive a car or a person who has been blinded can develop an enhanced sense of touch.
    But the basic answer is yes. Most people, myself included, do hear a difference. But I'm a musician, so I may percieve sounds a bit differently. Either way, I think the difference isn't huge. The technological thinking is that you can cram a lot more information on a DVD-A or SACD, so the potential for better sound is there.
    Mike

Thanks Mike

I think the most valid part of your statement was this:

"The technological thinking is that you can cram a lot more information on a DVD-A or SACD, so the potential for better sound is there."

Logically, this makes sense since more bits/bytes can be crammed onto a DVD which is in the gigabyte range than a CD which is in the megabyte range.

As for the listening... Did you notice better highs/lows or just a more natural sounding recording overall?

Thanks, Paul.

Forum Regular
    As for the listening... Did you notice better highs/lows or just a more natural sounding recording overall?

Thanks, Paul.
    Paul,
    I can't say that the highs were that much better in my system than with CD. Better, yes, but not on all recordings, and not by any great amount over CD. Again though, this is probably more dependent on my system than on the recordings themselves.