Forum Regular

Question Question for Refoamers out there

Because of the odd size of the driver in my old Infinity sub, the dealer could not find me a perfect match for a foam surround. Consequently, I will have to cut a bigger one and overlap the foam surround. I have about a 3/4" overlap, and looks like it will glue flat nicely. Question is:

At the splice, do I just glue the flat over the cone and the flat over speaker frame, and leave the "hump" unglued? Or do I just glue the lap splice entirely?

If it helps, this is a sealed sub. I was concerned if I glued the lap entirely, I would create a stiff spot on the surround and cause the edge of the cone to get hung up. Am I worrying about nothing? Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks!

Now that's a valid question.

I've never considered if the surround kit wouldn't fit. While I've had no experience at replacing surrounds, I have fixed my share of tears in the surround and I see no reason why this won't work. I would trim the excess 3/4" from one of the ends so as to provide a "butt" joint in the surround instead of a "lap" joint. A very straight cut is important if you are to keep the circular shape intact when joining the ends. Go ahead and begin glueing the surround to the frame/cone only with the glue provided until you've gone around the whole driver. Now after the glue has set-up for a bit take a small(very small) dab of RTV Black(common auto engine gasket adhesive) on your finger and smear on the underneath side of the surround at the splice. You may have to place another finger on the top side for support while you apply adhesive underneath. You can also use some scotch tape on the top of the splice(under the finger) to help prevent the adhesive from "bleeding" through. Let set for a couple hours and install driver. Should reach full strength after 6-8hrs. The adhesive will work on both foam and rubber and provide a very flexable joint/seal although with foam, the amount of pressure should be a little gre