Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Forum Regular

Which is better: 2 way, 3 way or 4 way speaker??

I am a newbie and trying to learn from the pros here... Generally speaking, does it mean the "more way" a speaker has, the better it is than a "fewer way" speaker? Simply put, does it mean that a 4 way speaker can reproduce better sound quality than a 3 or 2 way speaker?? Nowadays, there are speakers on the market that have 2.5 way? What does that mean?? Many thanks for all your comments.

M.P.S.E /AES/SMPTE member Sir Terrence the Terrible's Avatar
    None is better than the other. All speaker designs have trade-offs, no matter how many drivers they use.

Speakers should not be looked at based on their driver amount. There are some single driver coaxial speakers that outperform two way speakers, some two way speakers that outperform three way speakers and so forth and so on.

You ever heard the term never judge a book by its cover? That goes the same for speakers - never judge a speaker by how many drivers it has. Good sound can be had by all designs in the hands of a talented speaker designer.
    Sir Terrence

Titan Reference 3D 1080p projector
    200" SI Black Diamond II screen
    Oppo BDP-103D
    Datastat RS20I audio/video processor 12.4 audio setup
    9 Onkyo M-5099 power amp
    9 Onkyo M-510 power amp
    9 Onkyo M-508 power amp
    6 custom CAL amps for subs
    3 custom 3 way horn DSP hybrid monitors
    18 custom 3 way horn DSP hybrid surround/ceiling speakers
    2 custom 15" sealed FFEC servo subs
    4 custom 15" H-PAS FFEC servo subs
    THX Style Baffle wall

[QUOTE=ken88], does it mean the "more way" a speaker has, the better it is than a "fewer way" speaker? QUOTE]

You really want a speaker that goes ALL the way.
    Back in my day, we had nine planets.

Quality over qty.
    The number of drivers does not mean as much as the quality of the drivers, design and crossovers,