Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Forum Regular

best bookshelf speakers

Hi all,
    i am a newbie to this site (but not to audio). i am looking for some recommendations for bookshelf speakers for my home office. I am running a vintage Marantz 4300 receiver, NAD cd player and Rega tt. I would like to stay under $700 but am willing to go higher for the perfect match,. any help is appreciated. Thanks

Suspended
    I was impressed with a set of Dali I heard which cost around $675.00, unfortunately I did not get a model number. You might also look at a Dynaudio, Excite series bookshelf or one of the new DM series. DM is their new entry level, at lower prices than Dynaudio has been at before, I have not heard the DM series but have yet to hear a Dyn I didn't like. Not sure of pricing but the Monitor Audio, Bronze is another option. There's always B&W.

Epos and Energy make good budget speakers but I have not heard them.

Check these out, still on special price
    http://www.musicdirect.com/search/advanced_search.php

I ordered a larger pair but have not received them yet so cannot comment. Should make a good conversation piece Really though do some research these are supposed to be something special.

RGA
    Forum Regular
    I have two

Audio Note AX Two which is still my favorite speaker under $1,000 and the Dynaudio Audience 42. I own the Marantz 4300 receiver too and it is still going strong.

The AX Two is probably the most underrated loudspeaker on the market. It isn't perfect - bass depth isn't super low, isn't super dramatics, and the tweeter has to be partnered with something good. Not to mention it's ugly and tough to find.

Here is a review in fact directly comparing the AX Two to the Dynaudio 42.

http://www.hifiwigwam.com/archive/in...p/t-5803.html?

Forum Regular

message from Raj J

Quote Originally Posted by audiofan007
    Hi all,