Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
    Forum Regular

Sophia Electric Baby Amp

A couple of nights ago I got to listen to the Sophia Electric Baby Amp. I had never heard an SET amp before and I was beguiled at the SQ from that little thing. My buddy is using the Sophia as part of a desktop computer system with Klipsch 3.1 speakers.

Here is a link to a review of the amp that I generally agree with the reviewers findings:
    sophia

What I am scratching my head over is that I did not find the amp to sound aggressive or tilted to the high frequency as other reviewers have consistently remarked.. I thought it was just right-- balanced in the whole presentation.

Being that I am new to the whole tube electronics thing I am trying to understand the differences between SET and other tubed gear. My question is this....is the only difference in SET the type of tube that is used, a triode?

Thanks for the feedback fellas!

Forum Regular
    > A couple of nights ago I got to listen to the Sophia Electric Baby Amp.
    > I had never heard an SET amp before

And you still might not have heard a SET amp.
    The Sophia Electric Baby Amp, according to the link you provided, is described as a push-pull amplifier using pentodes.

BTW
    The acronym SET is for single-ended triode.
    Sophia uses the abbreviation S.E.T. for "Sophia Electric Technology", and is trade marked.
    The Baby Amp is marketed as S.E.T., rather than SET. IMO this is potentially misleading, akin to "LED" TVs.

> .is the only difference in SET the type of tube that is used, a triode?

The two salient attributes of SET:
    * triode power tube
    * only one tap of the output transformer's primary is connected to the power tube (i.e. no center tap).