AR Newbie Registered Member

Rotel RB 1070 as power-amp. with a receiver

Hello everybody,

My name is Tuyen, Nguyen Van. I come from HCMC, Vietnam. I am a newbie.

I have CD player Teac VRDS-10, Denon DCD-700AE, Yamaha RX-V1500 receiver, and a pair of B&W 603S3. My listening is 90% music, jazz, classic, a little of pop and country.

I would like to add a Rotel RB 1070 or 1080, and use the RX-V1500 as pre-amp., to get more dynamic, warm and deeper bass, and more detail mid.

Could you please tell me, in this case, the sound could be better, or just a difference ?
    Or I should buy a pair of pre/pow. My budget only USD 1,000.

Thanks for your help,

Tuyen

Man of the People Forums Moderator bobsticks's Avatar
    Hello Tuyen (Did I do that correctly? I know that in many Asian cultues surnames or family names appear at the front of the title..I'm not trying to be offensive),

A pre/pro would be the best but I do not think for US$1000.00 you will find both products that will be much better. A seperate amp will provide much more current to your speakers and the B&Ws tend to like current.

I have had good experience with Rotel items. I suspect that it would be a good upgrade.

Welcome to the forum.

AR Newbie Registered Member
    Thank Bobsticks, my family name is Nguyen. In Vietnam, normally, we do not use the family name at conversation.
    I might get the Rotel RB first, and use the RX-V1500 receiver as pre.
    The manuals show that output power of RX-V1500 is 120W, RB 1070 is 130W, and 1080 is 200W (just talk to power only). So I intend to go to the 1080 to drive the B&W speakers.
    In your experience, may the RX-V1500 play well the role ?

Thanks for your advice,

Sound Fanatic
    The Rotel is a beautiful amp. Best valued amps in the world as far as I'm concerned.