Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Social Security

Forum Regular

Social Security

Here is something that concerns me about the Bush plan for letting wage earners put some of their social security contribution into private accounts for investing in stocks and bonds. The additional money going into stock market from private accounts should push up stock prices in the short-run(prices will rise faster than would have been the case in the absence of such accounts). Years from now, however, when these people retire and sell their stock for living expenses, will this tend to slow further increases in stock prices, or worse, cause prices to decline?

I'm no expert on the stock market, and I don't what will happen. However, I guess if what I am concerned about happens, it would be best to get into stocks early and get out early. What do others think?

Forum Regular

It's not a good plan.....

.....for working folks. That's no surprise though, considering the source.

JSE
    Quote Originally Posted by Justlisten2
    .....for working folks. That's no surprise though, considering the source.
    Why is it not a good plan? Why is the ability to make a higher return on what your paying in a bad plan? Why is it just bad for working folks. Are these the same working folks that won't have social security when they retire because it's dried up under the current system? SS will be a thing of the past if we do not make changes soon.

Also, Mystic,

I don't think there would be much of an effect when people retire and cash in. I don't think most people all of a sudden "withdraw" all investments when they retire. Most move them around into other more sucure types of investments to earn a income off those investments. Plus, you will also have new workers putting their share of SS into the market. I doubt it would have much of an effect, if any to the market as a whole.