Forum Regular

Will receiver improve sound quality if I already have great speakers?

Appologize if I'm sounding retarded here, I'm a novice and have picked up alot in the past few weeks reading this board. Anyway, I just got an Orb Mod1 5 speaker 1 sub setup and the speakers sound fantastic on my cheap piece of crap Koss C-220 DVD/receiver (prologic 1 5.1 surround sound) when playing both CD's and DVD's. They sound 500% better than the original Koss speakers the system came with (hey I only paid $150 for it on Ebay- the Orb speakers I got cost me $699). I play classic rock and blues CD's in a normal size living room in an apartment building. If I buy a much better receiver, will the sound quality improve even more and noticably with these great speakers or will I see little improvement on an already great sound because of the new speakers? Also will sound quality improve with a better DVD player in regards to both DVD's and CD's or will it be negligible? I'm not interested in getting a 6.1 or 7.1 receiver, so please address this in terms of a 5.1 surround sound receiver and DTS is not a dealmaker in terms of getting a better receiver. Please, if answering speak in layman not mathmatical technical terms.

Somewhat perhaps, but not as much as you would think.

The speakers ultimately can do only what they can do.

Department of Heuristics and Research on Material Applications
    If you don't have at least Dolby Digital in your current receiver (ie: just Pro Logic) then yes, a new 5.1 digital receiver will greatly improve the sound of your system.
    Also, don't underestimate what a cleaner sounding, more powerful amp/receiver can do to a system. Speakers make a bigger difference, but amps/receivers can impact sound quality too.

Forum Regular

Sorry, yes I have Dolby Digital too

Hi,

I don't know if this changes your answer but my current system has both Dolby Digital 5.1 and Pro Logic 1.

Quote Originally Posted by kexodusc