AR Newbie Registered Member

Question Seeking Advice For A/V Rcvr $650-$800

Within the next few months I will be adding components to my HT. I would like to start with the A/V Receiver and my budget is around $650 to $800. I am a disabled veteran with a spinal cord injury which prevents me from easily going to showrooms and listening to the differences. I would greatly appreciate any input or recommendations. 65%-70% of the time I listen to music (blues, jazz, alternative, etc.) with the remaining 30%-35% spent watching movies. My current speakers are Aegis Two and Fluance SX-HTB (5.1 Home Theater System), and I have a Sony 300 CD Changer (CDPCX355).

Ideally, I would like the Receiver to last 4+ years, software/flash upgrade capability would be nice. As far as brands, I am familiar with Sony and have had good experiences with Sony in the past (am considering Sony's STR-DA2000 or -DA3000), Denon, Yahamaha, Onkyo, Harmon Kardon, Nakamichi, etc.

Thank you in advance, if you have any questions feel free to contact me.

Clueless,
    Paul

You got some decent options on your audition list, but I would be very cautious with Sony's Digital Drive receivers. They've had spotty reliability, and even though they measure well on the power output because of their digital amplification design, I've read some decidedly mixed reviews of their sound quality.

As far as upgradability, very few receivers have ever offered a simple firmware upgrade that consumers can load up themselves. Onkyo has offered firmware upgrades that you can download. Denon's upgrades have required that you bring the unit in and get a logic board swapped out. And even there, most of the ones I've seen that offer these kinds of upgrades cost $2,000+.