Forum Regular

Need help setting up Denon 3805!!

Hey guys,

Im getting ready to set it up using the Denon Mic. My question is, about setting up the low frequency distribution?

I have two choices. LFE or LFE+Main.

Now ive got a set of Klipsch (RF-3 and RC-3 up front), and a paradigm PW2200 sub. Now im pretty sure setting the the mains and centre to large is the way to go, as these speakers can go pretty low. Ive set the crossover to about 80hz.

Anyways, how should i set the low frequency distribution. Do you guys prefer just LFE or LFE+Mains?

Thanks for the help.

**Disclaimer** I have zero experience with the auto calibration features of newer receivers.

My set up used to be quite similar to your klipsch/denon system. I found I had the best results setting the RC-3 to small and keeping the mains to large. While I experimented with setting the mains to small based on some popular thinking, I had a very difficult time getting the bass to blend in seamlessly in that configuration. It may have been as simple as a personal preference but it was the way to go for me. I just don't see the point in nutting a speaker that has the balls to handle some bass without being boomy.

I'm sure someone more knowledgable will weigh in with better information. However you go, good luck and have fun. I saw that receiver at Keif's AV in Lawrence KS yesterday and liked what I saw and heard.

jc
    "Ahh, cartoons! America's only native art form. I don't count jazz 'cuz it sucks"- Bartholomew J. Simpson

Forum Regular
    I have my Yamaha set up to LFE+mains- I was playing around with it over the weekend and noticed it was set-up that way. I tested LFE alone and then with the mains- with the mains, it sounded fuller and blended much better.

As far as small vs large- I have floorstanding speakers (Mirage) and I have them set to small- I just let my sub do all the work- especially since it's using it's own amp.

Do a test on your own to see what sounds best to you.

Enjoy!
    Eric