Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
    M.P.S.E /AES/SMPTE member Sir Terrence the Terrible's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Quagmire
    Don't you just love how John Beresford is a Junior Member here, whereas you and I are "site newbies". How long has it been since you thought of yourself as a site newbie?

Q
    Yo Q,

I think I was a newbie back in December of 1997. To my recollection I have not been one till now. Maybe you and I are getting younger and will end up back in the egg when it is all said and done.

Sir Terrence

Forum Regular
    John; that is a good way of putting it and as such you are on the road to understanding.

Forum Regular

John...

You said: "...but I do not understand why the marketing of the disc reads 2.0 channel mono to begin with; why mix on two channels if the result is mono? Then why not mix two channel stereo at that point?"

First of all, I think you're right to just accept the packaging as is. It really isn't something worth getting all that worked up over. I actually get more upset when studios release fairly recent movies with only DPL soundtracks instead of remixing for true 5.1 surround; especially when they later release a "special edition" version of the movie with a remixed 5.1 soundtrack. Bill Murray's, "Ground Hog Day" is one such example, and although the movie isn't exactly a rollercoaster ride of sound effects, I would prefer to have the 5.1 mix. It's like penalizing those who like a particular movie and buy it early.