Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Forum Regular

Suggestion needed to upgrade my stereo

Hi,
    I am just new born to this forum. And also I am a newbie to the customized audio component system. Please forgive me if my post does not make any sense to you guys! Actually I wanted to make a stereo system, focus particularly on CDs. I am not looking for a Dolby or HT; just like to stick to the old school stereo.
    Few months back, one of my friends helped me buying the following equipment:

1. AV Receiver:
    Yamaha HTR6030B (below is the specification)
    Min. RMS Output Power:
    Front Channels - 100 W + 100 W (0.9% THD) (8 ohms, 1 Hz)
    Centre Channel - 100 W (0.9% THD) (8 ohms, 1 Hz)
    Surround Channels - 100 W + 100 W (0.9% THD)
    Dynamic Power (1 kHz): 8/6/4/2 ohms - 110/130/175/185 W
    Frequency Response (CD): 10 - 100,000 Hz -3 dB
    Total Harmonic Distortion (50 w/8 ohms): CD (Main Speaker Out) - 0.06%
    Signal-to-Noise Ratio: (CD) 100 dB (250 mV)
    Dimensions (W x H x D): 435 x 151 x 318 mm
    Weight: 8 kg

2. Floor standing speakers:
    JBL – STAGE (below is the specification)
    Frequency Response (–3dB): 47Hz – 20kHz
    Max. Recommended Amplifier Power*: 150W
    Power Handling (Continuous/Peak): 80W/320W
    Sensitivity (2.83V/1m): 90dB
    Nominal Impedance: 8 Ohms
    Crossover Frequency: 600Hz, 3500Hz
    Low-Frequency Transducer: 6" (170mm) PolyPlas,™ shielded
    Midrange Transducer: 4" (100mm) PolyPlas,™ shielded
    High-Frequency Transducer: 3/4" (19mm) Titanium laminate dome, shielded, EOS™ waveguide
    Dimensions With Grille (H x W x D): 34-3/4" x 9" x 13-1/8"
    Weight per Speaker: 31.2 lb/14.5kg

Also I use a Panasonic DVD player (around 80 bucks) to play my CDs.