Forum Regular

Cambridge Azur 640C Bug

Hi, I'm pretty new to owning a 2-channel system (About one month now) and have encountered a strange bug. I recently bought the Radio Head CD "Hail to the Thief" and while listening to it my CD player, a Cambridge Azur 640C, the player stopped recognizing the disc. I then took out the CD and tried a bunch of different ones and still my player would not recognize any of them. I then dropped it off at the retailer I had purchased it from, a Hi-Fi center.

A couple of days ago I received the news that the player was fine after turning it off for 24 hours and that maybe it was the fact that that particular CD is Copy Protected.

I was wondering if anyone else has experienced this and what their experience has been like with Cambridge. I recently also had a problem with my Cambridge Azur 640A amp. The CAP5 protection said it had encountered DC and was unusable till serviced. Once again I dropped it off at the dealer and they could not recreate the protection light. I think it may have been a heat problem and have recently placed on amp on its own open stand.

Thanks

Can a crooner get a gig? dean_martin's Avatar
    I had problems with a CA D300 cd player and A500 integrated. The cd player was fixed under warranty and has worked fine since (about 3 years). The A500 was making a terrible noise right out of the box so I was able to return it - no harm done. I got the Azur 540 integrated for about $5 more - no problems so far.