Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Hey Mtry....

Forum Regular

Hey Mtry....

I think we all know you are an avowed disbeliever in many things audio, i.e. the effects of cables, power cords, differences in components and the like. I have to agree that cables and power cords are way at the bottom of my priority list.

I would like to hear how you drew your conclusions on the inaudibility of changes to cabling and other "snake oil" products.

Thanks.

Luke

I think your question is a good one and since I am in the same field of thought as Mtry, I will give my own answer.

First, without trying to sound snotty, I have a Bachelor and Master's of Engineering so I do have a fundamental (if not extensive) background in physics, math, electricity, digital circuitry, etc. And I have been employed in hard engineering jobs for the past 24 years although my last two years after leaving the Canadian Navy, I have been a computer network engineer.

In the Navy, as an electronics engineer, I had to deal with every conceivable type of cabling carrying signals which spanned the entire frequency spectrum. As you may know, a naval war vessel has miles of internal cabling connecting thousands of components.

This knowledge and experience allows me to review technical presentations,like those found in white papers by audio cable companies, with a critical eye. To date, I have yet to see a single paper that does not have some flaw or hole in it as to make it technically incomplete or inaccurate or even misleading. And there are simply no test results that confirm anything that is being claimed.

As well, I have done my own in-home testing (of course in a very unscientific manner) and have found no evidence of cable sonics. I've analyzed circuits and calculated parameters but this has led me nowhere with regard to coming up with golden egg.