Forum Regular

help needed - floorstanding speaker setup with notebook

Hi,

I just made a custom notebook for myself and want to use it as a stereo sound system for quiet listening and parties as well.

I haven't installed a good sound card yet, there is one built-in, i am planning to buy a good sound card like creative nx2 usb, is it really needed, or adding a good amp would be enough?

Basically i want a stereo sound setup
    with 2 floorstanding speakers
    with a fast sub (if its needed)
    and amp(i think its needed but am not sure)
    and a good sound card (if needed, i have a pcmcia slot but its already used, so usb is only option)

I am not exactly an audiophile but i can recognize what speakers are good, or bad..

I am a student with a budget of 500-600$, in jersey city.

Room size is approx 20 X 30 ft, probably a bit bigger

Any help would be appreciated.

Sam

Silence of the spam Site Moderator Geoffcin's Avatar

Several possibilities

Quote Originally Posted by sam2005_1980
    Hi,

I just made a custom notebook for myself and want to use it as a stereo sound system for quiet listening and parties as well.

I haven't installed a good sound card yet, there is one built-in, i am planning to buy a good sound card like creative nx2 usb, is it really needed, or adding a good amp would be enough?

Basically i want a stereo sound setup
    with 2 floorstanding speakers
    with a fast sub (if its needed)
    and amp(i think its needed but am not sure)
    and a good sound card (if needed, i have a pcmcia slot but its already used, so usb is only option)

I am not exactly an audiophile but i can recognize what speakers are good, or bad..

I am a student with a budget of 500-600$, in jersey city.

Room size is approx 20 X 30 ft, probably a bit bigger

Any help would be appreciated.

Sam
    One of the easiest ways to get your computer to play music on your home system is to add a RF transmitter. It transmits a weak FM signal that your receiver can pick up.