Forum Regular

Is there any point????

Hey folks, I'm a college student at the moment and am attempting to build a somewhat decent stereo system based around my 4,000+ digital music collection (probably about 90% of the tracks have been imported into iTunes from CDs) coming from my Apple iBook G4, and I'm wondering if it's even worth buying decent $300-$400 bookshelf speakers to play my music.

Right now, I just have the $4 RCA cable from any electronics store coming out of my headphone jack into my Technics SA-EX140 AV receiver, then into some 20 year old speakers that got passed down to me. The speakers aren't that bad, but don't really go well with my current situation (they're floor speakers in a fairly small dorm room-type setting).

Granted, I'm not looking for perfect quality, as the speakers will mainly be used for hanging out my room, small parties, etc., but I'm basically wondering if there will be any sound difference between speakers if my mode of transfering songs from my computer to my speakers isn't great to begin with.

BASICALLY, I'm asking which is the bigger difference in sound quality: changing the methods of transferring my digital music to my speakers (RCA cable vs. upgraded sound card, DAC, etc.) or an upgrade in speakers. I'm thinking that upgrading speakers would be a more noticeable difference...

Haha, sorry for the longwinded and perhaps unclear post.
    Last edited by AShannon04; 11-27-2005 at 09:13 PM.

Big science. Hallelujah. noddin0ff's Avatar
    In my opinion the first critical aspect for quality from digital files is making sure the files are imported at high bit rates. 128kbps is not that good, but fine for noisy environments. I consider 192kbps to be the minimum and it still is not great when compared to lossless.

Second most critical factor is probably the speakers. Big speakers, on the floor in a small room can be muddied. You might get a cleaner sound with some nice bookshelfs that can be positioned up near ear level.