Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast
    Forum Regular

Great Article on Cables

I've been researching all the pieces of my soon-to-be home theatre setup and came accross this article. As with any type of purchase, from electronics to automobiles, you can spend infinite amounts of money on it. But at what point does the extra money you spend, garner you almost no increase in benefit? From this article, it seems that diminishing returns start very low with speaker cable.

http://www.roger-russell.com/wire/wire.htm

I don't mean to start a war here, but after reading this article, can anyone provide a coutner argument to it? It seems like a well contructed argument against the powerful marketing of cable manufactureres, but I'm a noob, so I'll gladly eat my words if I'm out to lunch.

As far as I can tell, so long as the impedence of your speaker wire is less than 5%, it doesn't matter if your wires are from Radio Shack.

Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by jjjanzen
    I've been researching all the pieces of my soon-to-be home theatre setup and came accross this article.
    That link is as old as grandma's hills and twice as dusty. Most of the references are over twenty years old. While he added a 2001 reference, it is devoid of any tests or substantiation.

As with any type of purchase, from electronics to automobiles, you can spend infinite amounts of money on it. But at what point does the extra money you spend, garner you almost no increase in benefit? From this article, it seems that diminishing returns start very low with speaker cable.
    And that was my conclusion in the 80s until I experienced better in my system.

I don't mean to start a war here, but after reading this article, can anyone provide a coutner argument to it?