Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    The Bargain Hunter

Question Do you really get what you pay for?

I havn't done much research into speaker cables but enough to know you can spend a hefty amount on them.I'm still pretty new to higher end gear and have lots to learn and little to spend.Recently I made up a pair using 14ga wire that is copper on both strands rather than typical speaker wire with one side being silver in color,I started with 100 feet and cut it into 4-25ft lengths and use 2 for each cable,1 wire for positive and 1 for negative,It seemed to make quite a (positive)difference in the sound of my maggie SMGs.Now for the questions-Is it wire size or insulation or a combination of both that makes a better cable(wire) or am I just a newbie without a clue? Thought I'd mention that the wire I used was actually intended for outside use electrical lighting etc.and was about $12 for the 100 ft.

Suspended
    There are companies that use many different approaches to cables. My experience is that high quality cables do make a difference. If you are using Maggies I believe you will also notice an improvement. There will be other here that will tell you cable don't make any difference. The bottom line is you will eventually have to try it for yourself. A friend here, Hermanv, makes cables and can tell you more about what effects what. He found that lower frequencies need a heavier gauge while higher frequencies like lighter wire. Some companies like Transparent and MIT design circuits that go into the cables to counter various effects, mainly what they call the antenna effect. Obviously, good shielding helps. Some companies like Siltech use a blend of copper, silver and gold wire. I'm sure that some of the companies that jump on the bandwagon aren't exactly above board with their product but most are or there wouldn't be a thriving market for quality cables.