Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    an Absolute Beginner Jurgenvanes's Avatar

Question Modifying powercords

Hi,

I’m thinking about modifying the standard powercords of my NAD C370 integrated and my NAD C270 poweramp. I want to remove the original cords and mount a suitable socket so I can connect decent quality powercords.

Does anyone have tips or suggestions?

Cheers.

Color me gone... Resident Loser's Avatar

Yeah. don't do it...

...There is not a single shred of credible evidence that IEC-type power cords contribute anything whatsoever to a systems' sound.

The IEC cord was adopted solely for economic reasons and as a result a new cottage industry was spawned based on the gullibility and the never-ending search for the grail among audiophile types.

You could seek out sites to obtain retro-fit female connectors, but most will require extensive modifications to back panels at the very least and possibly to the PCBs within the units to be modified; say goodbye to any warranties. Safety issues may also arise.

And of course we have the requisite question: how do you think six-feet of powercord will undo any gremlins unleashed by the powerplant itself, line transformers and un-shielded service feeds that supply your mains? Think about it.

jimHJJ(...expensive snake oil IMO...)

Hi Jurgenvanes,

Funny you should mention that...I was thinking of doing the exact opposite in my system. I've seen a good number of audiophiles swap in and out power cords...and even some add IEC sockets to the component so they can swap power cords in and out. But man...I just keep thinking that the weak link will now be the socket. I'd much rather prefer hardwiring.

have fun!

enjoy the music!

Quote Originally Posted by Resident Loser
    And of course we have the requisite question: how do you think six-feet of powercord will undo any gremlins unleashed by the powerplant itself, line transformers and un-shielded service feeds that supply your mains? Think about it.