AR Newbie Registered Member

stanton str8-80 vs. t80?

hi,

i'm completely new to this, but hopefully someone can help me out.

i recently started a little vinyl collection, and had thought of buying either a rega or pro-ject turntable, but shied away as they're a bit out of my price range. i talked to a friend who suggested that, since i have a home studio, i buy a dj turntable in case i ever have need for it. he let me listen to his stanton str8-80, and it seemed to be exactly what i was looking for.

however, when i checked online to order it i found that, while the str8-80 is still available to purchase, the stanton website lists it as discontinued. the newer line of turntables has a similar model (t80) for around the same price. my friend says that the str8-80 is a better turntable, and that i should go with that. i can't really find any difference in the tables (apart from appearance), but i was hoping to get some advice from someone who knows a bit more than me.

what are the main differences between the two tables? any opinions on which would be the best choice?

i also have a few other questions, but i'll try to sum these up quickly. he suggested that i buy the 520sk cartridge to go with the str8-80. i know nothing about this at all, so is the 520sk a good cartridge? i'm also starting from scratch, so i have to get an amp and speakers, but i have no clue where to start. i'd like to try to keep the amp and speakers under $100 because i'm spending almost all i can spare on the turntable, but from the prices i've seen online, i'm not sure that will happen. does anyone have any suggestions?

thanks.