Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    DPM

Getting back into vinyl--need a turntable

I'm planning on getting a turntable, but I have no experience with the high end brands. My prior turntable--which I haven't owned since 1991--was a Technics direct-drive unit I purchased back in 1979. It was equipped with an Ortofon HM 30 cartridge.

For my next turntable, I was looking to spend around $1,000.00 (give or take a couple hundred) for the table/cartridge combo. My Musical Fidelity Tri-Vista integrated amp has a phono preamp built in, so I don't have to worry about that. The qualities I'm looking for are a neutral to slightly warm sonic character, excellent tracking ability, accurate speed, good looks and--most importantly--reliabilty.

The two tables currently in the running are the Project RM6.1 SB and the Rega P3 MK 24 w/301 arm. Right now, I'm leaning towards the Project RM 6.1 because I've read some negative reviews regarding the reliability of Rega's cheaper tables. Also, the Project gear looks cool IMHO, and I like the idea of the record clamp.

Still, if I have to spend a bit more than $1,000.00 to get those qualities I want, I'd be willing to go for the VPI Scout or a higher end Rega, Project or Clearaudio.

Does anyone here have any experience with the tables I've mentioned? As far as reliabilty is concerned, who is the go-to manufacturer? If you were in my shoes, which table would you purchase?

I only have experience with SB 6.1 at a dealer. I'v read alot of reviews on this site about their platter inconsistancy, but I've never found that to be true at 2 different dealers. They both spun much flatter than any records we will ever own. Speedbox is a must for PJ TTs. But if I had your budget, I would defintely toy around with a used Scout with original packings.