AR Newbie Registered Member

Need an amp, thinking about a receiver

I am a web developer, so I'm at my computer for hours per day. I recently bought a pair of Sennheiser HD-595 headphones and I'm loooooving them. But I feel like I may be missing something without an amp. I'm just plugging them directly into the back of the sound card.

Also, I have a pair of Sony bookshelf speakers that I'd like to be able to hook up to the computer as well.

I've been thinking about finding an old 2-channel stereo receiver at a yard sale or somewhere like that (they are everywhere it seems). Then I would plug the computer into the aux input and perhaps my iPod into another input and be done with it.

I have a feeling this is a stupid question but knowing my situation, would a stereo receiver be a good alternative to a headphone amp? Would anyone suggest anything else that improve my listening experience? A preamp? A DAC?

If you like headphones, I could see going with a DAC with a volume control and headphone amp. The Music Hall DAC25.2 is an example, although I can't speak for its sound quality...never heard one. A stereo receiver sounds like a fine idea, if you want to play the sound through speakers. An amp with a volume control, like the AudioSource AMP100 is also an option. Make sure you have a decent sound card if you go the analog route. With a DAC, you just connect the computer via USB, so no need to worry about the card in that case.

Suspended
    The vintage receiver would be your cheapest option and it will run both speakers and headphones. Finding a stereo Harmon Kardon would be very good.

In addition to what was already suggested and I know you have the Sony speakers but you might want to take a look at a set of powered speakers like the Audio Engine. The larger set has a USB dock for mp3 player and even charges it and they sound great. I don't believe they have a headphone jack though.