AR Newbie Registered Member

Hello, forum newbie here seeking amp advice

I got a hit on this site whilst searching for information on B&W Signature 7NT speakers and have been grateful for the advice people have contributed in other threads.

I have an amp question for anyone experienced in these matters.
    B&W recommend that an amp with 150W power be used to drive these speakers, which seems like a heck of a lot given a lot of quality amps are in the 75-100W range for 8ohms speakers.

I have a choice to drive my pair of 7NTs with either:
    My Sony STRDB940 AV amp (110W per channel) or by a specific stereo amp such as the Roksan Kandy K2 with a nominal output of 125W which I'll have to buy.
    Also, if I use the Sony amp, I'll need a replacement AV amp with an equivalent power rating for my home cinema.
    Do I take the audiophile route and use a dedicated stereo amp at twice the cost of a decent AV amp (currently some excellent deals here in the UK) or should I save the money since iTunes decoding will be the limiting factor on sound quality compared to the rest of the kit?

Thoughts much appreciated.

Welcome to the forums. I'm sure someone will have a clearer answer than I.

But from reading around I've seen speakers suggested in a range 100-150W.

The amp you have now might work well enough depending on the volume you plan to play at/or the space you need to fill in the room.

Of course, the B&W Signature 7NT might have some special issues that mean that 150W is what is really what is needed.

You can always plug it all together and see how you like it.

Suspended
    My first thought is why buy such good speakers if you don't have a good source. Why buy B&W to listen to mp3.

Do you have two systems or just adding a power amp?