Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
    ...enjoy!

Which amp for Tannoy Dorset T185?

Hi,

I've recently bought a pair of used Tannoy Dorset T185 (60W, 8Ohm).
    I like the sound and I'm very pleased with my purchase.
    The speakers are currently plugged to an old Pioneer SA-506.
    I'm not an expert audiophile but I have the feeling that I can get more out of the T185.
    So I'm now looking for an appropriate amplifier to combine with them.
    I have been given a list of Denon amps, can somebody tell me more about them?

Denon PMA 860 / 1060
    Denon PMA 1080R
    Denon PMA 900V

Is the PMA 900V an integrated Class A amp?
    What is the difference with a New Class A amps?

I'm open to take in consideration other models/brands, so any valid alternative is welcome.
    Thank you very much in advance.
    Musical greetings

Suspended
    I suspect Denon would not be the best match for the Tannoy, in my opinion the match may be a bit bright. What is your budget? You might look at Jolida or Peachtree on the budget end. The Tannoy wouldn't need much power and tube amps may be a better match. Jolida even has a 100 watt hybrid which I haven't looked at in a while but still should be under $600.00 new. NAD and Cambridge Audio offer very reasonable priced integrated amps, neither are tube but may offer a more musically satisfying sound than Denon.

Aren't they usually rolled off at higher frequency?
    If you are not using a pair of external tweeters and Dorset t185s are free from low impedance, how about OTL tube amps? You might want to research t185's impedance curve.

...enjoy!
    To Mr Peabody & jrhymeammo:

Actually my budget is quite modest ($250.00).
    I can eventually invest some more money (max $500) if in that price range falls a qualitative product (also second hand is fine) that will do for my need.

Out of curiosity I've been searching for used Jolida amps an found the following:
    - Jolida JD 1501 (100 watt hybrid) year 2009 for $520.00