Forum Regular

*Stupid question warning* Rotel RX-1052 question

I apologize because I know this is a dumb question that I should be able to figure out.

Do I need a separate amp with the Rotel RX-1052? Or is it all I need to input things and power the speakers? I have never had separate preamp/amp/receiver only all in ones So I am new to such high end Hi Fi.

See this thread to know what I want the receiver for: B&W 604 S3 or JM Labs Cobalt 816S for a large open room.

Thanks.

The Rotel RX-1052 is a stereo receiver, meaning it includes a pre-amp, poweramp, tuner and composite video connections. Plug in speakers and your source and you're ready to go. Will this be a dedicated audio system, or do you plan on connecting video? If this is a dedicated audio system, I would suggest instead purchasing an integrated amp (includes a pre-amp and poweramp), or separates.

Forum Regular
    You can always look into the rotel rsx1058 which just came out.Or one of the previous versions rsx1056 or 1057.Would go very well with B&W's if you decide to get them.(posted on your other thread)

It's a stereo receiver with rudimentary video provisions..

You can plug in a pair of speakers and use it's internal tuner for FM sound.

You can add input sources like a CD player and a turntable, which is rare nowadays,

Additionally, you can add a DVD player and route it's composite video output (yellow jack) through the receiver and to the monitor, although this may be of limited usefulness nowadays, what with component and S-Video and being common and with both providing a better picture.

Looks like a fine receiver. Enjoy!

Forum Regular
    Quote Originally Posted by elapsed