Forum Regular

Sansui 4000- new to vintage gear

Hello!

I just picked up a Sansui 4000 and a Sansui RA-500 Reverb amp at a local Salvation Army.
    Since I am new to vintage gear(and this forum), I was wondering if anyone could give me some information on these units, and if there are any recommended modifications for the Sansui 4000(replace the capacitors?)
    I am using a Nakamichi CD changer, and KLH Rave 12 speakers(3-ways with 12" woofers.)

Thanks a lot!

Ray Paul

Aging Smartass
    I owned a Sansui 4000 when I was in the service (1968-1971) and thought it was terrific. Unlike most of the competing units from Pioneer and Kenwood (then known as "Trio"), the Sansui was the only unit that used a full wave bridge rectifier in its power supply, and had viscous-damped volume and balance controls to provide that luxurious feel. It was rated at 45 watts per channel (a real 45 watts) and was a steady, reliable workhorse. It was also one of the very first to have a linear tuning scale, and a "blackout" scale as well.

Sorry, but I can't give any recommendations as to values of capacitors and their replacements.

When I returned home, I also returned to my employer (Lafayette Radio) and was astonished at how much better the 4000 sounded over my LR-1500TA, which, at least according to Consumer Reports, was supposed to be just as good. The Lafayette unit lasted me for years, and I sold hundreds of them, but the Sansui 4000 was a superior product, with a retail price tag at the time of $369.95, and worth every penny.

Forum Regular
    Thanks for the reply!

It's nice to know I have a quality product to enjoy.

You should check out www.audiokarma.org it's a site that specializes in vintage gear.
    ARC SP9 MKIII, VPI HW19, Rega RB300
    Marcof PPA1, Shure, Sumiko, Ortofon carts, Yamaha DVD-S1800
    Behringer UCA222, Emotiva XDA-2, HiFimeDIY
    Accuphase T101, Teac V-7010, Nak ZX-7. LX-5, Behringer DSP1124P