Page 9 of 44 FirstFirst ... 7 8 9 10 11 19 ... LastLast
Like Tree6Likes

Thread: New Finds

Vinyl Fundamentalist Forums Moderator poppachubby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by dakatabg
    It has 12AX7 tubes and I just read the manual book and they don't mention anything for biasing. That is strange. I will check to find around a place where they do that and I will get the amplifier checked there! Thank you guys for the big big help! Soon I will be helping people like you are helping me know for the tube amps!
    As Peabody mentioned 12AX7 is a preamp tube, so fixed bias. Your output tubes should have bias pots. I am not an expert, perhaps your output are fixed as well. Either way take it to a pro. Another benefit of a pro is they will test your tubes for strength, and estimate how much life is left in them.

Chicago IL
    I have been listening to this amplifier and whole morning and I love it. I think the bias is fixed because I don't have anywhere a bias pots and I checked everywhere even online there is nothing. I will still go to a store. I am looking now and this afternoon I might go get the amplifier to the professional doctors to check it! I like how when I turn it off it keeps going for few seconds. Thanks everyone who helped me.

Regarding the power, now it is a lot powerful than before! I guess it had to work for a while to get going and again love the sound, I can't imagine how those mcintosh tube amps will sound. Maybe one day

Suspended
    No, Dak, the 12ax7's do not get biased, they are your preamp tubes. Only your EL84's will need biased.

FWIW, there is a Dynaco power amp ST-35 which is also 17 watts. Could be where the confusion came in. Oddly enough same power but a bit different circuitry from the SCA-35.

Chicago IL
    Ok here are 2 good news.