AR Newbie Registered Member

Help me find my perfect speakers please.

Allright here it goes.

I'm a beginning producer and dj and i want some new speakers. Unfortunatly I have no experience what so ever with speakers and thus know NOTHING about them.

Now I was looking at some speakers this afternoon and I found the following wich I found interesting.

- Philips FB 242
    - Crown 2
    - Schneider 8027 LS
    - and a Sterling

I hope that there's someone on this forum that knows a bit more about these speakers. they are quite old speakers, but I think that doesn't really affect there potential. tell me more and what you'd advise me to buy.

I would use my speakers for listening music, where bass is very important! also hi-tones and mid-tones so actually everything is important, but especially the bass.

Thanks a lot!

PS. How would I connect 2 speakers to my pc without an amplifier, or is that impossible?

Can't tell you a thing about the speakers listed, sorry.

What price range are you in? What is the room size? Are these party speakers or for critical listening? Will they be placed very close to your listening position (nearfield)? What have you heard so far that you liked/disliked?

BTW, you'll need powered monitors if you plan on hooking this up to your computer. In which case, I'd look at Genelec.

AR Newbie Registered Member
    Quote Originally Posted by topspeed
    Can't tell you a thing about the speakers listed, sorry.

What price range are you in? What is the room size? Are these party speakers or for critical listening? Will they be placed very close to your listening position (nearfield)? What have you heard so far that you liked/disliked?

BTW, you'll need powered monitors if you plan on hooking this up to your computer. In which case, I'd look at Genelec.