Forum Regular

Paradigm Mini Monitor vs Yamaha NS-555

Hey. I am going to be listening to 75% music 25% movies. I am just now starting to build me a system so I am new to this. Any suggestions on one of these speakers over the other? Thanks for the input!!

Clay

Forum Regular
    No one want to answer?

I am afraid that if I just go with the Paradigm Mini Monitor, I wont get the bass I would have out of the Yamaha NS-555s. I crave the bass. Well if anyone has any suggestions, let me know Thanks!

Man of the People Forums Moderator bobsticks's Avatar
    Hey Clay, welcome to the forum.

First, yes, you would absolutely trade off bass response by going with the Mini-Monitors over the Yammies. If you crave Bass you best be lookin' elsewhere.

That said making any kind of intelligent recommendation is impossible without more information. What genre of music do you most listen to? What associated equipment will be used...receiver, amp, cd player, server-based computer system? What kind of budget do you have?

The more specific you are the better folks will be able to help you.
    So, I broke into the palace
    With a sponge and a rusty spanner
    She said : "Eh, I know you, and you cannot sing"
    I said : "That's nothing - you should hear me play piano"

I like the idea of starting with a nice pair of music speakers, since you indicate you'll be using the system for music 75% of the time. That means the NS-555 is out. You can get your bass from a sub.

What is your budget and what equipment do you currently have?
    Pass Labs X250 amp, BAT Vk-51se Preamp,
    Thorens TD-145 TT, Bellari phono preamp, Nagaoka MP-200 Cartridge
    Magnepan QR1.6 speakers
    Luxman DA-06 DAC
    Van Alstine Ultra Plus Hybrid Tube DAC
    Dual Martin Logan Original Dynamo Subs
    Parasound A21 amp
    Vintage Luxman T-110 tuner
    Magnepan MMG's, Grant Fidelity DAC-11, Class D CDA254 amp
    Monitor Audio S1 speakers, PSB B6 speakers
    Vintage Technic's Integrated amp