Tekton 4.5

Printable View

• 12-18-2011, 10:40 AM
    cackalacky
    Tekton 4.5
    Wow. Just heard these at a buddy's house. They quickly moved near the top of the "Cackalacky Best Bang for the Buck" speakers. At $550, yes $550, they now share 1st place on that esteemed list with Maggie 1.7s ($1,995).

Has anyone heard their 6.5s ($1,200) or flagship Sigmas ($5,000)? I'm drooling at the thought.
  • 12-18-2011, 02:49 PM
    Poultrygeist
    I've been enjoying mine for several years. Unfortunately most folks on this forum have never heard a single driver full range speaker.
  • 12-18-2011, 03:02 PM
    cackalacky
    Quote:

Originally Posted by Poultrygeist View Post
    I've been enjoying mine for several years. Unfortunately most folks on this forum have never heard a single driver full range speaker.

At least in part, a marketing issue. Unless you know someone who owns them, there's no way to audition them.
  • 12-18-2011, 03:17 PM
    Poultrygeist
    Another way to audition them is to build a pair.
  • 12-18-2011, 06:13 PM
    cackalacky
    Quote:

Another way to audition them is to build a pair.

I actually had a similar thought while I was looking/listening. Seemed like a simple and straightforward design. Would it be an acceptable degree of difficulty for a first time DIY project? How about the 6.5?
  • 12-19-2011, 05:02 PM
    Poultrygeist
    My Betsy/Alpha open baffle full range speakers as pictured here would be the simplist build. Below is a link for a full range box speaker using enclosures purchased from Parts Express.

Fostex FX120 DIY Bass Reflex Bookshelf Speakers
  • 12-19-2011, 06:09 PM
    cackalacky
    Quote:

My Betsy/Alpha open baffle full range speakers as pictured here would be the simplist build. Below is a link for a full range box speaker using enclosures purchased from Parts Express.

Thanks.
  • 12-19-2011, 06:31 PM
    RGA