Forum Regular

Question 'Speakers to match Quad 303

First of all I'd like to say hi, this is my first post :)

Basically I have a Quad 33/303 pre/power combo. Most of the time the source is from my PC (casual music as I'm browsing the 'net, etc.) but I also have a Marantz CD-63 (non-KI).

I have a pair of almost unheard of 'speakers (GenEXXA LX5s -- http://www.beamecho.mcmail.com/reccomme.htm) that I know little about; these actually weren't all that bad until one of the mid/tweeters died. Right now I'm looking for a pair of suitable 'speakers to go with my setup.

I'm pretty new to all this but my Dad has a Quad 405 with a pair of Yamaha NS-1000Ms (also ESL-63s) which sounds superb; I'd like to get as close to this as possible. I've got my eyes on the B&W DM604 S3 based on a couple of good reviews. However, I really don't know how well these would match up with the rest of my kit (I'm fairly new to all of this). I've read the CD-63 is ``warm'' (whatever that means ;) and so is the 303. I remember reading somewhere that if you have too many sonically similar devices the result will be sub-standard -- do I need to worry about this?

Anyway, I've probably written far more than I should have. In a nutshell: are the B&W DM604 S3s going to match my stuff; can anybody suggest something else (with a maximum upper limit of £800) that might also work?

Thanks a lot!

P.S.
    Mostly I listed to jazz/blues and folky stuff -- Bob Dylan, Norah Jones, Eva Cassidy, Leonard Cohen, Joni Mitchell, etc. However, ever now and again I like to play a bit of Guns N' Roses or the like at full blast :)
    Last edited by lewiz; 04-14-2004 at 12:10 PM. Reason: Add music tastes

Forum Regular
    Why dont you look at the QUAD 21L or 22L speakers ?
    they are very good products !!!!

Forum Regular
    Quote Originally Posted by lewiz
    First of all I'd like to say hi, this is my first post