Rav
    Forum Regular

Speaker Basics for a newbie

Hi there,

I am completely new to the HT area and have recently just decided on my first receiver after much research (Yamaha RX-V1500). Obviously from the posts I have seen here the speakers are the more important component of a system and everyone has different tastes in which brands are better etc.

I need a basic education though on what I need to start looking at for a 5.1 system. I don't really know the terminology, and in looking at the review ratings on this site I don't know a main speaker from a surround speaker from a bookshelf (I think i get the center and subwoofer ).

Any help would be greatly appreciated so I can take the next step in putting together my system. Thanks!

BooBs are elitist jerks shokhead's Avatar
    Front L&R speakers are mains and most sound out of those. Backs or surrounds are for effects and center for dialog and a subwoofer for the .1 in 5.1,LFE which is low stuff,bombs,crashes,ect. Thats basic Home Theater. Nice to get same size mains and surrounds but most get smaller surrounds. Front 3 should be same brand to match so to speak. This is a quick,basic explanation.
    Look & Listen

Forum Regular
    Welcome to the forum. There is a wealth of information on the web regarding sound and audio gear; you just have to get that mouse and keyboard humming. Here's one to get you started. And here's another.