Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Forum Regular

Recommended pre-amp & power amp to go with Boston Acoustics T-830?

I am a college student, soon to be using Boston Acoustics T-830 speakers. I'm a newbie to the audiophile world. I'm into jazz/downtempo/lounge music. Can you guys recommend me a pre-amp and power amp to go with my T830s? What am I looking for exactly, in a pre-amp and power amp? What other things do I need to go with the system? I don't want to spend more than $150 if possible.

T830s: 15 - 100 watts, 90db sensitivity, 45Hz-20kHz ±3dB 1~8" woofer, 1~3½" mid, 1~1" dome tweeter. I don't really know what all these things are, but I'm reading up on them now.

You won't be able to buy a separate amp and preamp for $150 even if you go the used route. I would recommend a 2ch receiver like an Onkyo or Harman Kardon or even better, a used vintage marantz or sansui receiver.

http://www.us.onkyo.com/model.cfm?m=...s=Receiver&p=i

This is the new 2ch receiver that I would buy-

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produc..._Receiver.html

or this if you can swing it-

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produc..._Receiver.html

check amazon, you may be able to find used or refurbished models for less.

Amazon also has a decent universal DVD player that has decent CD and excellent SACD playback for $79 that used to sell for $450. Its the Yamaha DVD-S1800. I just bought one to use only for SACD play.
    Last edited by blackraven; 03-17-2010 at 01:18 PM.
    Pass Labs X250 amp, BAT Vk-51se Preamp,
    Thorens TD-145 TT, Bellari phono preamp, Nagaoka MP-200 Cartridge
    Magnepan QR1.6 speakers
    Luxman DA-06 DAC
    Van Alstine Ultra Plus Hybrid Tube DAC
    Dual Martin Logan Original Dynamo Subs
    Parasound A21 amp
    Vintage Luxman T-110 tuner
    Magnepan MMG's, Grant Fidelity DAC-11, Class D CDA254 amp
    Monitor Audio S1 speakers, PSB B6 speakers
    Vintage Technic's Integrated amp
    Music Hall 25.2 CDP
    Adcom GFR 700 AVR
    Cables- Cardas, Silnote, BJC