• 02-26-2005, 09:14 PM
    DaveES01
    Need advice, folks! B&W 603S3 and...
    Ok, so I've decided to invest about USD $3,000 (all-in) for a complete 5.1 system (receiver + speakers + wires). After comparing the 602s vs. 603s, I decided to go with the 603s (no comparison in my opinion)...

Issue #1
    Since I was really pushing my budget with the 603s, the sales associate at my dealer paired them with the following from the 300 series:
    Center: LCR3
    Woofer: ASW300
    Rear: DM303
    Is this advisable? I always thought I should be pulling from the same series (If you couldn't tell, I'm new to the Hi-Fi world)

Issue #2
    The receiver he recommended (which sounded great but I'm not sure if it's more or less than I need) is the Rotelle RSX 1056 ($1300). How superior is the Rotelle to the NADs and Marantz models that run approx. $500 cheaper?

Any advice is certainly appreciated! Thanks!
  • 02-26-2005, 11:29 PM
    paul_pci
    We'll see how helpful this is: I just got some 601s and along with them the LCR60 which is cool, and of course, matches. What I would consider is that since you're going with the floorstanders and you're pushing your budget, why don't you do without the sub for now and go with the LCR60 unless you have a larger sized room where you'd probably be better off with the LCR600. And you could even try to squeeze in the 601s for rears, especially when you rethink the receiver choice, as you suspect. If you're new to the hifi world, my guess is that you probably won't be able to tell the difference between the $1300 receiver and one that is, as you say, $500 less. Just make sure that the receiver you get, has all the bells and whistles you want, including a usable, feature-filled remote.

BTW: you don't happen to be in the LA area, do you? Those products sound like the exact lineup that the dealer I go to stocks.

Quote:

Originally Posted by DaveES01