test the blind blindly emorphien's Avatar

Looking for a small sub for stereo system in a small room

I have a NAD C320BEE driving Axiom M3Tis which I use for listening to music. I'm a graduate student on a limited budget but would like to finally add a sub to the system to fill out the bottom end and give my bookshelves an easier job.

I will be using the speaker level inputs to the sub and connecting my Axioms to the speaker level outputs on the sub (obviously). I would like the sub to filter or reduce bass frequencies transmitted to the bookshelves so they have an easier job of handing the rest of the frequency range. Or at least it's my assumption that this would be a benefit to me in this situation. I believe that would be a high-pass filter on the speaker level output from the sub.

Since my budget is limited I've been rather interested in two subs which are fairly similar, the HSU STF-1 and Outlaw LFM-2. $300 is an appealing price point if I can get a decently composed sub with fairly linear performance. Unfortunately it doesn't look like they'll offer me a high-pass filter on the outputs. Should I really be concerned about this, or not?

Forum Regular
    Do the Axioms's bottom-out from over excursion? Do you hear break-up effects when playing at high volumes? If the answer is no, then you don't absolutely need the high-pass crossover. Sure, it will take some strain off the the amp, but I don't think that is an issue with the NAD. If you purchase a sub that allows for this, I would experiment with both options and see what you like better. You may want the sub to roll-in lower than the high pass crossover on the sub accomodates (ie 50Hz vs 80Hz). Also, you may like the sound of the pre-amp level connection better.

You may want to take a look at the Pinnacle subwoofers as well:
    http://www.pinnaclespeakers.com/subwoofers.html#VPSub

Small, affordable, and full-featured. Probably sound good, too.