Forum Regular

Help a Newbie Choose a Subwoofer

I am very new to this and need some help in choosing a subwoofer for my system. The components so far are these:

Yamaha 6.1 100W receiver
    Mirage Center Channel CC-1
    Mirage Omnisat Micro surround speakers x2

The room size is small to medium (15' x 12' and is fully carpeted. The house is brick stone. I neither want or need a subwoofer that will shake the walls or floors - just something that will provide clear, crisp sound without alot of booming. It will be used to play music, DVD's and TV. I have been doing lots of research and found the following subwoofers - all rated five stars or just below on this web site. They are also very inexpensive, as subwoofers go, and I don't want to spend lots of $$$. The list includes:

(1) BIC America V-1020 10" (350W) Down Firing Subwoofer - $160-$200
    (2) BIC America V-815 8" Powered SW with Long Throw (150W) $139.00
    (3) Acoustic Research PR808 8" (150W) - $109
    (4) Velodyne VRP-1000 10" (170W) $120-$250
    (5) Velodyne VX-10 !0" (150W) $100-$170

QUESTIONS:
    How much watt power would I need for the smallish system I have? I am leaning heavily toward #5 - Velodyne VX-10 - 5 stars from 11 users at tomshardware.com: http://stores.tomshardware.com/ratin..._type=masterid

Would this be enough power? Does anyone here have experience with it? Thanks.

Department of Heuristics and Research on Material Applications
    Hello,

The choices you've provided give me a clue as to your budget. With subs, I'd recommend getting the biggest, most powerful one you can for your money. Sound quality harder to recognize at the lower frequencies between similar units, but insufficient power isn't. Larger subs generally offer a few more perks than smaller ones too.
    I'd also suggest you stay away from BIC's subwoofers. They make great value speakers, but go cheap on the subs for some reason.
    Of the choices you've provided, I think you'd be best off with at Velodyne Vx-10.