Forum Regular

help needed - floorstanding speaker setup with notebook

Hi,

I just made a custom notebook for myself and want to use it as a stereo sound system for quiet listening and parties as well.

I haven't installed a good sound card yet, there is one built-in, i am planning to buy a good sound card like creative nx2 usb, is it really needed, or adding a good amp would be enough?

Basically i want to buy a stereo sound setup
    with 2 floorstanding speakers
    with a fast sub (if its needed)
    and amp(i think its needed but am not sure)
    and a good sound card (if needed, i have a pcmcia slot but its already used, so usb is only option)

I am not exactly an audiophile but i can recognize what speakers are good, or bad..

I am a student with a budget of 500-600$, in jersey city.

Room size is approx 20 X 30 ft, probably a bit bigger

Any help would be appreciated.

Sam

Forum Regular
    Well, I think this is what you'll need....

something like this...

http://us.creative.com/products/prod...07&product=585

That'll get you out of the PC, good ins and outs, give you 5.1 is you want it to watch DVD's and such, and give you a physical knob to grab when your computer flips you the bird and sends some obnoxious screaming noise through your speakers. (trust me, this will happen at least once. But with a knob, it won't be very bad)

Then you'll need some descent amps. An inexpensive 2 channel amp if your just want to do stereo. Just an amp, not a receiver. You'll use your subs build in passive crossover for speaker management. Or a decent 5 channel amp if you want to do surround. These are gonna be harder to find, but somebody here will hook you up with a link.

Then you'll need to find some good quality 1/8" stereo to RCA cables to get you from the Sound Blaster unit to the imputes on the amp(s).

Fellas, who makes a good quality 1/8" stereo to RCA?