AR Newbie Registered Member

Powered tweeters?

Hi, I'm not a pro when it comes to audio equipment and would like a little advice. Is there such a thing as a powered tweeter? I want to play a high pitched sound through a tweeter to hopefully stop some pests from entering my yard. The louder and clearer the better. If I have to run a separate amp is there any particular brand I should buy? I only need one tweeter for now. Thanks for any help.

There are dedicated sound emitters specifically tailored for pest control. I would look into those first before trying to build your own, since it would be lot less expensive. There are plenty of inexpensive powered speakers out there (as well as pro audio monitors with built in amps), but then you'd have to figure out what to play through the tweeters and how to do it.
    Wooch's Home Theater 2.0 (Pics)
    Panasonic VIERA TH-C50FD18 50" 1080p
    Paradigm Reference Studio 40, CC, and 20 v.2
    Adire Audio Rava (EQ: Behringer Feedback Destroyer DSP1124)
    Yamaha RX-A1030
    Dual CS5000 (Ortofon OM30 Super)
    Sony UBP-X800
    Sony Playstation 3 (MediaLink OS X Server)
    Sony ES SCD-C2000ES
    JVC HR-S3912U
    Directv HR44 and WVB
    Logitech Harmony 700
    iPhone 5s/iPad 3
    Linksys WES610

The Neverending DVD/BD Collection

Subwoofer Setup and Parametric EQ Results *Dead Link*

Suspended
    Quote Originally Posted by rupertbear
    I would rather you to try Pinnacle's 8 INCH 2WAY INCEILNG-PAIR PIVOT MOUNT TWEETER. It's usually sound best when positioned three or more feet higher than the front speakers. The price is range about $132.05 to $149.23.
    I don't think his Pests have front speakers yet

Forum Regular
    Quote Originally Posted by SteelyD