Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Happy Thanksgiving!

Belatedly....day after....you know I meant to say it yesterday, don't you?

We all have albums that we just never get tired of hearing, over and over, year after year. The band puts out a new one and we say to everybody that will listen that we love the new one, and sometimes we even go overboard and say something stupid like it's the best thing they've ever done, but sooner or later (and it's usually sooner) we're back listening exclusively to that previous one we know oh so well and still love. What's one of your favorites that continues to stand the test of time?

I've been listening quite a bit recently to the second Luna album from 1994 - after Dean Wareham disbanded Galaxie 500. Bewitched. I've been listening to this one for the last 10 years and like it more now than ever. Songs flow from one to another like honey. Quirky but not undecipherable lyrics. Great guitar playing from Dean and Sean Eden (displaced Canadian living in NYC who was added to the lineup after the first album was recorded) as well as the Velvet Underground's very own rhythm spoil to Lou Reed's drone, Sterling Morrison, guesting on a couple of the songs. And as always, drummer Stan Demeski brings along some of his distinctive Feelies feel, albeit slightly toned down on this one. Ten songs without a duffer in the bunch, opening with the wonderful "California (All The Way)", followed by the very fun "Tiger Lily" and then one of my very favorites in the first guest spot for the distinctive Sterling Morrison, "Friendly Advice", that goes on effortlessly for 6 1/2 minutes with one of the best extended guitar workouts of its time. And when they get to the middle of the album and "This Time Around", with the Hammond Organ and vibes, I'm so there. Very cool listen. Kind of an indie rock classic in my mind, if you can have indie rock from Time Warner.

Last edited by Davey; 11-26-2004 at 05:45 PM.

Enough about their old stuff, how about Rendezvous?