Forum Regular

Speaker Wire Question(s)...

Yes, I'm a relative newbie and pretty darn stupid when it comes to some of this stuff. I have Yamaha NS-100XT (or something like that) floor-standing speakers with a matching Yamaha center channel. I have a decent (cost about $250) Sony Receiver (5.1). I'm presently using Acoustic Research Performance Series 18 gauge speaker wire terminated with banana plugs. Should I purchase heavier gauge wire? Will it make a difference? I'm planning to upgrade my receiver and speakers in the next few months (probably will buy the Yamaha 5760 and Axiom Millennia M40ti loudpeakers with matching center but I'm still shopping) - should I wait until then to purchase better wire?

Also, how in the hell does one tell which strand is positive and with strand is negative. These wires aren't color-coded (most I see aren't) and I can't tell the difference. I tried to make sure I matched red to red and black to black - am I missing something?

Thanks again! This forum has been a lifesaver for me! I appreciate all of the advice!

w

Forum Regular
    Yes, I'm a relative newbie and pretty darn stupid when it comes to some of this stuff. I have Yamaha NS-100XT (or something like that) floor-standing speakers with a matching Yamaha center channel. I have a decent (cost about $250) Sony Receiver (5.1). I'm presently using Acoustic Research Performance Series 18 gauge speaker wire terminated with banana plugs. Should I purchase heavier gauge wire?

How long are each run to the speakers?

Will it make a difference?

Most likely not.

I'm planning to upgrade my receiver and speakers in the next few months (probably will buy the Yamaha 5760 and Axiom Millennia M40ti loudpeakers with matching center but I'm still shopping) - should I wait until then to purchase better wire?

Depends on the length of run. Most likely not important.

Also, how in the hell does one tell which strand is positive and with strand is negative.