Forum Regular

Integrated Amplifier Run-in Period

I just purchased a new Primare I20 Integrated.

The Dealer suggest 100 hours run-in period and play at low volume or high volume is the same.

Question:

1. Is the 100 hours run-in period sufficient?

2. What is the sound different before and after run-in?

Please, I am a new bird need you guy (Master in hi-fi) some advice.

My-Set-up: Marantz CD4000 + Monitor Silver Connect + Primare I20 + QED Cables + Mordaunt-short 902.

That's a beautiful integrated, congrats.

Your question will no doubt start a war so understand that everything I'm about to write is merely opinion. I'm not an engineer. I'm not a audiophile zealot. I don't believe in the magic cable fairy but I do believe front end components can sound different.

Break-in is a combination of two things:

From the physical side, it is the charging and expansion of the capacitors (caps) to optimum levels. Caps are like batteries and when fully charged, give the amp more headroom and better attack during transients. Some also believe this period is used to settle-in the transformers, power supplies, and even wires among other things. Again, I'm not an engineer.

The second and probably more influential part is the psychoacoustic element to this equation. Your brain simply needs time to recalibrate to the new sonic signature of your new equipment. As it does this, the sound will slowly become more enjoyable as you become better acquainted with it.

In my experience, amps before break-in/warm up sound somewhat congested, sometimes nasal, and will have recessed bass and tinny highs. In other words, they sound like a Sony . After break-in, my amps always sound much more natural and neutral with far better extension at both extremes.

I am a believer in break-in and also warm-up. How long it takes is really up to you to determine.

Hope this helps.

Forum Regular
    Thanks Topspeed.