Forum Regular

B&W 600i compared to B&W 601 S3 ?

Hello gang. Newbie here so thanks for any help.

Had the chance to borrow a friends pair of B&W 601 s3. Really liked them as mains on my old Pioneer receiver that pushes 70w.

For sale not so close by are a pair of 600i B&W's.
    Not knowing the B&W line other than by reputation I was curious if these two models compared closely to each other and what I could expect from the 600i as a comparison to the 601 S3.

Thanks very much.
    B

Brad, I have heard the 601's but not the 600i's. I have heard 2 versions of the 601's. I bought them used for my son from a dealer but ended up returning them as we found them fatiguing. I think that there are better speakers available today. But the 600i is a budget speaker and is below the 601's.

What's your budget?
    Pass Labs X250 amp, BAT Vk-51se Preamp,
    Thorens TD-145 TT, Bellari phono preamp, Nagaoka MP-200 Cartridge
    Magnepan QR1.6 speakers
    Luxman DA-06 DAC
    Van Alstine Ultra Plus Hybrid Tube DAC
    Dual Martin Logan Original Dynamo Subs
    Parasound A21 amp
    Vintage Luxman T-110 tuner
    Magnepan MMG's, Grant Fidelity DAC-11, Class D CDA254 amp
    Monitor Audio S1 speakers, PSB B6 speakers
    Vintage Technic's Integrated amp
    Music Hall 25.2 CDP
    Adcom GFR 700 AVR
    Cables- Cardas, Silnote, BJC
    Velodyne CHT 8 sub

Welcome to AR, Brad. The DM601 S3 is a much newer version of the 600i and has a number of refinements over it's predecessor. Most obvious is the updated drivers that include B&W's famous Nautilus tweeter and signature kevlar midrange. You have to remember, the 600i was built 25-30 years ago while the S3 went out of production in '07. This is not to say either are bad, I still love my CDM 7NT's from '03, however I would think it would be safe to say the 600i's, with their polypropylene mid/bass and '80's metal dome tweeter may be tuned quite a bit hotter than the later gen.