Forum Regular

Is my amp any good?

Hi,

So I'm kind of new to the game and when it comes to knowing what makes an amp any good or not I'm completely lost.

I recently purchased a pair of high quality headphones; Sennheiser HD 598s and I want to run them as best as possible. I've heard it's best from a full system with a real amp and either from a CD or from vinyl. But I have no idea if my amp is any good or not. The same goes for my record player, but I'll probably post a separate thread about that later.

Anyway, my amp is a Kenwood KA 893. Here are 2 link with specs for the amp and the headphones:
    Kenwood KA-893 | Owners Manual, Service Manual, Schematics, Free Download | HiFi Engine
    Sennheiser Canada Inc. - HD 598

So is my amp any good for running my headphones? If not, why not and what would I be looking for in an upgrade?

Also, it has a phono input, but I also own a phono preamp that my dad gave me. Should I plug my record player into the amp's own phono input or into the preamp and then into the amp?

The preamp is a bozak madisson clk-ph2, the specs:
    Impedance: 50k ohms
    Gain: 50X (10mV in = .6V out)
    Max. Input: 35mV
    Response: 20-20KHz
    Max. Output: 1.9V
    S/N Ratio: -60dB
    Power Requirements: 117VAC, 60Hz

Thank you very much for taking the time to read this wall of text and thanks for any responses, I appreciate it.

How does it sound to you? Newbie or not, you should be able to know what sounds good or not. You can go broke and/or crazy trying to live by everyone else's opinions on what "sounds better" to them.

I use a 40 year-old Marantz 2230 to run my Sennheiser HD-580's, Grado SR-80and Sennheiser HD-280's and they all sound great, but different. The amp is not my limiting factor on how they sound. I see no reason to think yours would not be more than adequate, but only your ears can tell you that.