AR Newbie Registered Member

Advice on smaller sized Bookshelf speakers

Hello,
    I am a rookie when it comes to audio. I currently have a mixed set of:

Cambridge Soundworks ensemble IV satellites
    Cambridge Soundworks CenterStage Center channel
    Infinity PS28 Sub

Receiver: Onkyo SR-605

I am looking at getting a smaller sized pair of bookshelf speakers as my main front speakers. I will be upgrading the sats & sub at a later date.

I have been doing some research and would like to keep the price around 400 for the front pair. I also would prefer white speakers, but have found them more difficult and usually more expensive. Here are some speakers I have seen get good reviews, any other ideas or thoughts on these and other choices?

Paradigm Studio 20
    Definitive Technology Mythos Six
    Klipsch RB-81
    B&W 686
    Energy RC-10
    Kef iq10
    Axiom Audio M3v3
    NHT Absolute Zero
    Wharfedale DX-1 HCP 5.1
    I really like the look of the Wharfedale's. I know they are 5.1.

I know I'm kindof all over the place, but any recommendations/thoughts would help me out. Thanks for any feedback.

Around here we actually listen to speakers before we buy them. Who cares if the wharfdale's are 5.1 or not. What they sound like is far more important.

My advice: Make the effort and actually listen to some speakers!
    ARC SP9 MKIII, VPI HW19, Rega RB300
    Marcof PPA1, Shure, Sumiko, Ortofon carts, Yamaha DVD-S1800
    Behringer UCA222, Emotiva XDA-2, HiFimeDIY
    Accuphase T101, Teac V-7010, Nak ZX-7. LX-5, Behringer DSP1124P
    Front: Magnepan 1.7, DBX 223SX, 2 modified Dynaco MK3's, 2, 12" DIY TL subs (Pass El-Pipe-O) 2 bridged Crown XLS-402
    Rear/HT: Emotiva UMC200, Acoustat Model 1/SPW-1, Behringer CX2310, 2 Adcom GFA-545

Forum Regular